Store Policy

“I’m sorry, but this isn’t for sale.”

“What are you talking about, it has a tag.”

“Yes, and I can see the staple holes which held another tag that said ‘Not For Sale.’”

“Look, I need this shirt today.  The mannequin won’t miss it.”

“Maybe not, but I’m not allowed to sell clothes off the mannequins.”

“Sure you are.”

“Excuse me?”

“The customer is always right, and I hereby declare that you have the authority to sell me this shirt.  And at 50% off.”

“Who told you that?”

“Told me what?”

“That the customer’s always right.”

“Well it’s just…you know.  The service industry motto: The customer is always right.  You must have heard that before.”

“No, I’m afraid not.  In my experience, the customer is usually wrong.”

“How dare you!  I demand to speak with the manager.”

“I am the manager.”

“Well then I demand to speak with your manager.”

“They were fired a few weeks ago and haven’t been replaced yet.  So I guess I’m my own manager for now.”

“What were they fired for?”

“Selling clothes off a mannequin.”

“Such a small offense?”

“Well that and assaulting belligerent customers who told them how to do their job.”

Leave a Reply

